ROLLING STONE 100 GREATEST ARTISTS

I gave up on Rolling Stone(d) "greatest" lists when their "Greatest Guitarists" list had Angus Young at #96, Eddie Van Halen at #70....and Kurt Cobain at #12!!! I'm shocked they had Zeppelin in the Top 20 of this list!!!!

Newbie here... I'm not gonna read this article cuz the list is crap. Still, I'm curious to know if they even provided a criteria for the rankings. IIRC, they didn't provide any for one of those lists they did. I'd love to know why the Beach Boys and Buddy Holly are greater than Zep. I just don't see it. Some of the omissions are glaring, IMO. No Queen or Pink Floyd...ugh.

Newbie here... I'm not gonna read this article cuz the list is crap. Still, I'm curious to know if they even provided a criteria for the rankings. IIRC, they didn't provide any for one of those lists they did. I'd love to know why the Beach Boys and Buddy Holly are greater than Zep. I just don't see it. Some of the omissions are glaring, IMO. No Queen or Pink Floyd...ugh.

This list of the 100 Greatest Artists of All Time were selected based on input from 55 musicians, writers and industry executives... :)

So, it's certainly not a "Reader's Poll". I don't either agree or disagree with their results. It's just a list....

I would not included Aerosmith or Guns & Roses. I would have included Pink Floyd and Deep Purple, but what'ya gonna do ? ? ?

All of the entries had an essay written by another artist.

Here's the Introduction: