Bonzo's Presence Ludwig kit...

Jem1

As one of Bonzo's biggest fans being a drummer, I have never had full confirmation as to what kit he actually used to record the 'Presence' album. I know all about the earlier kits, such as the maple and green sparkle. Bonzo recorded I.T.T.O.D on the Steel Ludwig, but I am almost sure the kit on Presence was a Ludwig silver sparkle. I have heard many stories about a silver sparkle being around at Musicland Studios, and Bonzo loved it, so used it, but I really want to know the truth. I would be very grateful if any of you could give me any information on this. He had used a green sparkle in the studio between 1971 and 1975, but as we know he used four different models on stage with Zep. Thanks. Jem. )

From what I've heard and apparently in the book A Thunder of Drums, he used a Silver Sparkle in the studio, there aren't really any pictures to prove it.

Silver-Sparkle-300.jpg

Some think this might be his silver sparkle, but I think its his green one.

John Bonham used the Green Sparkle kit on everything from the 4th album on except for Presence which he used the Silver Sparkle.

And how do you know that...?

This "Silver Sparkle kit" is slowly etching its way into Bonham-Lore. Okay so Jeff Ocheltree says he "saw it". Until pics appear, though, it remains in my mind at least as just another smoky myth...

Interesting to note that a Silver kit may have lived at Musicland at the time, but again until pics appear or some credible source chimes in...

We've seen the pic of Polar Studios circa 1978 with two Bonham sized kits in the recording room....one looks to be green, the other silver or stainless, but Jason Bonham himself apparently claimed those were NOT his dads kits...

I'm sure I've seen somewhere that Dave Grohl bought Bonham's kit that was used at Musicland for Presence.

If I remember rightly there's a video uploaded on YouTube showing this kit and how it got sold etc.