My Led Zeppelin Drum-along!

Mr. Hudson

Hey guys :)

I'm Ash from England, if you don't know me already and I'm a drummer and a huge, HUGE Led Zeppelin fan and John Bonham will always be my biggest inspiration and so it will remain....

I recently entered one of the practice rooms of a friend of mine who owns his own studio called Planet Sounds, based in Southampton, England. How to describe this studio.... Hmm, it's basically a dungeon. It's underneath a very old, preserved bridge called the Itchen bridge, and the rooms in there are absolutely massive. Some are great for drum sound, and some others not so much because there's a very particular curvature to the ceiling in a few of the rooms, but the room I landed in was just gigantically proportioned.

But anyway, I ramble on. The idea was to go into that room and play along to some of my favourite Zeppelin songs and record it just for pure pleasure, and the results aren't amazing, but I'll explain why. Other than that though, I'm quite happy and felt I should share it with other Zepheads regardless!

Basically, the drum kit in this room is by no means professional, I think the brand is 'CB drums', but I'm not entirely sure. Everything else I owned though, from the kick pedal, to the snare, and the cymbals. The kit itself is pretty standard sized, 20; maybe 21 inch bass drum, with 16 inch rack tom and 18 inch floor tom. Before I even properly laid hands on the kit, I set up the cymbals away from it, tuned my snare up (which is a 1980's gold tinted/brass Ludwig stadium rock snare, with coated emperor for the batter and hazy ambassador for the bottom), and when I finally did touch the kit, it was dead. I don't know who tuned it before hand, but my god, I could have gotten immediately a better tone out of pots and pans! So I tuned that up too, and spent a good 10 minutes on the bass drum alone - removed a massive pillow and gave it to a homeless person, and then, I was away!