Guitar tone "Houses of the Holy "

Jeff Reichenbach

Hello, I am new to the forum. I posted this question on the newbie forum because I am a newbie, and then I found musicians forum.

My question,

How is the guitar effected on the intro to the song ,Houses of the Holy, from the Physical Graffiti? 

Is it some kind of phase, flange? 

I appreciate any feedback or suggestions, because I have tried everything in my arsenal,to no avail.

Thank you Zeppelin people.

2 hours ago, Jeff Reichenbach said:

Hello, I am new to the forum. I posted this question on the newbie forum because I am a newbie, and then I found musicians forum.

My question,

How is the guitar effected on the intro to the song ,Houses of the Holy, from the Physical Graffiti? 

Is it some kind of phase, flange? 

I appreciate any feedback or suggestions, because I have tried everything in my arsenal,to no avail.

Thank you Zeppelin people.

Knowing Page, and hearing what my ears pick up, I imagine it's probably a Guitar Overdub.

I had read that he used a delay effect (pedal or board) with some kind of modification of the input connection that made it feedback to itself. The guitar sound is quite drastic from the companion disc to the finalized version. (Leads me to believe the effect was dome through the mixing board)

9 minutes ago, sixpense said:

I had read that he used a delay effect (pedal or board) with some kind of modification of the input connection that made it feedback to itself. The guitar sound is quite drastic from the companion disc to the finalized version. (Leads me to believe the effect was dome through the mixing board)

^ this...

There's a thing called a phase reverse button on most mixing desk channels. If you play back a sound, and also play a phase reversed version of the sound back at the same time, the two versions of the sound cancel one another out so you end up hearing nothing at all...