Bonham: Points of Style

Dirigible

Bonham employed a number of techniques when he concocted the stellar drum parts for Zep tunes. I’ve been playing LZ covers since 1978 and here are some conclusions I’ve drawn in three decades of trying to authentically copy Bonzo’s drumming. Not that you were unaware of any of this, just my take on the subject.

First and foremost, his patented bass drum triplets. Although I practiced them daily it took me four or five years to be able to call those up on command. I finally got a handle on playing them by deconstructing Don Brewer’s drum intro to We’re An American Band. Brewer played doubles on his bass followed by a snare beat to complete the triplet. I wanted to master the doubles with my foot, I didn’t give a damn about that downbeat, but found in order for me to keep the rhythm of a succession of double notes flowing with my right foot I had to finish the triplet by hitting the snare with my left hand. Let's attribute it to shabby muscle memory or operator error. So what I started practicing was stopping my stick in mid-air and not striking the snarehead, faking the hit. That kept the rhythm and groove where I wanted it. By subtracting the snare note I had the bass drum flurries I craved. I’m sure I looked stupid hitting imaginary toms in mid-air but after a week I could play doubles on the bass drum pedal without any weird hand movements. That enabled me to add the hi-hat and snare where required until all three elements were in sync and up to speed.