Getting Les Paul sound on Strat

SickTangerine

Well, is there anyway I can get that thick, heavy sound of a Gibson Les Paul on A Fender Squier Stratocaster? I started playing electric about a month ago, and with Drive turned on I can get a thick sustaining sound for solos and what not, but other wise it is too distorted.

If anyone has any tips, here are the knobs I have on my AMP, just to help out (yeah, it's not much variety, but it was in expensive and my only option)

Gain Knob

"drive" button, which is essentially distortion I guess, gain controls the sound of it

Volume Knob

Treble Knob

Bass Knob

and on the guitar itself I have just the standard tone knobs and volume knob, along with 5 switch picup. (sorry if I am getting the terms wrong)

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

-Breakdown/Sick Tangerine

Anything is possible, my friend ;) I like your comparison though at the beggining

I'll end up going out to buy a Gibson in some time (months and months), but for now I want to find some variety in sound on my Strat :) After all, for a jobless juniour high student, it is rather hard to sum up money to go out and buy even a USED Gibson. The only place around here that sells guitars (including where I got my Strat) are one of the many pawn shops...good old small town Canada! :)

but for now I want to find some variety in sound on my Strat :)

Whoa... that line really cracked me up. I'm not dogging you, but Strats, even Squire Strats, have much more of a range than a Les Paul. The Les Paul is, for all intents and purposes, a rock & roll guitar. Meant to be played loud and to rise above your drummer, even if he is John Bonham.

Strats, on the other hand, can be used in so many ways with so many possibilities. From blues, think SRV, to funk, to soul, to melodic commercial music, to country, to psychedelia, to just about anything you can imagine.

Just a few of the great Strat players;