Starting Bootleg Recommendations

ThomasJake71

Personally, I'd recommend the Texas International Pop Festival - August 31, 1969. The performance is short enough (only 1 hour) that casual fans can get into it. The sound quality is also good enough that people won't be turned off (since with quite a few bootlegs, you'll find you'll need "bootleg ears" to enjoy them). The band itself is also putting on a great show.

10 hours ago, Sathington Willoughby said:

I also noticed you didn't mention DVD or BBC Sessions, op. Get those when you get the chance, obviously.

I fully agree about LTTE, DVD and BBC. I would also add Blueberry Hill September 4, 1970

I'm somewhat new to bootlegs myself, but I'll give a mention to the best I've heard so far:

Tokyo, 23/09/1971 -----> first night of Japan 71 tour and whole band just on it and wild, dramatic show, reasonable sound, and one of the best versions of Stairway ever.

Southampton University, 22/01/1973 ------> Decent, but not the best show - still good, but band very loose and laidback. Interestingly low-key show for Zep at this point as I think it's in the student refectory. However the main selling point is that the recording quality is superb - easily the best sound of any Zep boot I've heard outside of radio broadcasts, and there are some surprises in the setlist such as HMMT and CB.

Madison Square Garden, New York, 12/02/1975 -----> Check the date as I may be wrong on this, but this is one of the best 75 shows. I think it's referred to as 'Four Blocks In The Snow' after a comment Plant makes between songs. Great performances of Sick Again and Kashmir. Good soundboard recording.

St Louis, 16/02/1975 -------> Really consistent and excellent show with a great Stairway and other stuff. Quality soundboard recording.