I buying a new guitar

MistyMountain67

what are the pros and cons of a semi hollow body ?

I'm not that experienced with semi-hollow bodies, and it's very possible that it's just personal preference. I mean...if it were a bad thing, I'm sure semi-hollow guitars wouldn't exist. Why put in the extra effort if you're going make a guitar sound worse?

The point is, your guitar body's shape and material helps make your tone, as do the pickups and strings. In my (rather limited) experience, semi-hollow bodies have less bass than solid bodies, and I like lots of bass. So much so that I don't mind owning a bass amp and no guitar amp. I can't say for sure if that's true for all semi-hollow guitars though, because I've only played a few...but it makes sense. Less wood, in my understanding, means less bass and a different overall tone. If you've never played one before, it might be a good idea to go to a guitar shop and play a solid body next to a semi-hollow body and see what exactly the differences are. But it all comes down to personal preference, I think.

guys, listen, when i walked into my local guitar shop i was browsing around looking for a new guitar to buy. and this guitar just stuck out above all the rest and i immediatly new (by instinct maybe) that this was the guitar for me. for me, this guitar represents everything i'm about (if that makes any sence).

guys, listen, when i walked into my local guitar shop i was browsing around looking for a new guitar to buy. and this guitar just stuck out above all the rest and i immediatly new (by instinct maybe) that this was the guitar for me. for me, this guitar represents everything i'm about (if that makes any sence).