Graduation

zosodude13

I graduated High School today. I put on my cap and gown, and walked across the stage, in the bright lights at the Eastman Theatre in Rochester.

I woke up at 6:30 this morning. The sky was grey and it was raining. I took a shower and didnt say a word for nearly 2 hours. I put on my black dress shirt, tan dress pants and a bright red tie as the colors of my school are red and black. I got into the car with my parents and my grandmother, sitting in the drivers side back seat. I leaned my head on the window, still gentley raining outside, with the sky still dark.

To get to the Eastman Theatre, we had to get on the parkway. That meant we had to drive past the high school. Hilton High School. Where I had spent the last 4 years of my life learning, making friends and living life. The raindrops fell harder and faster as we passed by. I say the old brown brick section, with the large windows. I heard my self saying the names of the teachers in those rooms. Mr. Farmham. Mr. D'Agusstine. Ms. Saxton. Mr. Hanson. Mr. Heise. Ms. Jasen. And then we moved past the new addition to the high school, that was built while I was in middle school, and completed during my Freshman year. As we drove by, I felt like it was mine. I had grown up with it, lived with it for its whole life. I was there for it. A strange feeling for a building, but seeing myself drive by and not stop and turn into the parent drop off finally got the better of me. I didnt cry, but my eyes watered and burned with tears. I crained my neck to get a final look at the school was we rounded the road.