Fitting a New Guitar nut & resetting the action.

No1ZeppelinFan

I was wondering the same thing.

My guitar is actually brand new, but it's a budget model that came poorly set up and the action on it sucks. I've already adjusted the saddle heights.., but I think I need to shave the nut as well.

Any tips on doing it yourself would be great because I'm a broke college student who can't afford to take it to a shop.

Hiya, The nut on my guitar is badly worn and I wondered if anyone on here has fitted their own new one? If so any tips?

Also for me the action seems quite high, Is that easy to balls up, Shall I just get both sorted by a shop?

Cheers

Is the original nut worn beyond repair? I ask because it's a lot easier to fix an existing nut than to build a new one from scratch. If the nut has been broken, it can usually be glued back together. If the slots are too low, they can be filled with a mixture of nut material and super glue and re-filed to the correct height. I would definately try to salvage the existing nut before attempting a replacement.

If the nut does, in fact, need replacing, I would leave the job to a pro. Nut replacement is a delicate and time-consuming repair that requires specialized tools the average do-it-yourselfer won't have laying around the shop. But, if you're feeling spunky, here's how to do it.

Start by removing the original nut. In most cases this means knocking it loose with a mallet. If there is lacquer over the nut you'll want to score it before removing the nut to prevent damage to the finish on the neck. If the nut is glued extremely securely, it may be necessary to saw across the top of the nut, lengthwise, and then use pliers to collapse the nut in on itself.

Once the old nut is removed, clean the glue residue and any debris out of the nut slot.