Jump to content

Nirvana’s 1992 Reading

The Pagemeister

Recommended Posts

Nirvana’s 1992 Reading Set Debuting as CD/DVD in November

Nirvana’s storied August 30, 1992, headlining set at England’s Reading Festival will hit stores on November 3rd as a limited-edition CD+DVD deluxe edition — the same day a reissue of their debut Bleach is released. A double-LP version of the set arrives on November 17th. The DVD consists of remastered footage shot of Nirvana’s epic performance, and the original film has also been color-corrected, making the picture damn near pristine. Only two of the 25 performances on the disc have ever been released officially.

The highlight of the show was a performance of nearly all the songs on the band’s 1991 breakout album, Nevermind. The concert also contains what, at the time, were three unreleased In Utero tracks: “All Apologies,” “Dumb,” and, in its first-ever public performance, “Tourette’s.” Nirvana also reached back to their Sub Pop days, delivering songs like “Blew,” “About a Girl,” and “Negative Creep,” as well as the band’s first single, “Love Buzz.”

During their Reading appearance, Nirvana also tackled songs that would later appear on Incesticide, like “Aneurysm,” “Been A Son” and “Sliver,” plus two covers, Fang’s “The Money Will Roll Right In” and the Wipers’ “D-7.”

News of the release follows on the heels of yesterday’s announcement that Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain would be brought back to pixilated life as a playable character in Activision’s forthcoming Guitar Hero 5 game, due in stores September 1st. Other game characters include Carlos Santana, the late Johnny Cash, Shirley Manson of Garbage and Muse’s Matt Bellamy.

Full track list for Nirvana Live at Reading DVD:

1. “Breed”

2. “Drain You”

3. “Aneurysm”

4. “School”

5. “Sliver”

6. “In Bloom”

7. “Come As You Are”

8. “Lithium”

9. “About A Girl”

10. “Tourette’s”

11. “Polly”

12. “Lounge Act”

13. “Smells Like Teen Spirit”

14. “On A Plain”

15. “Negative Creep”

16. “Been A Son”

17. “All Apologies”

18. “Blew”

19. “Dumb”

20. “Stay Away”

21. “Spank Thru”

22. “Love Buzz”

23. “The Money Will Roll Right In”

24. “D-7″

25. “Territorial Pissings”

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...