Hello from Phoenix, AZ

PhxHorn

Hello from Arizona! I call myself PhxHorn because I'm a professional trumpet player based in Phoenix. My first concert was Robert Plant in '88 in Indianapolis at the now-demolished Market Square Arena. The encore was 'Back in the USSR'. I remember being annoyed that they hadn't played Break on Through like I'd been reading about, but I get the impression the Beatles tune was a bit of a rarity. I had tickets to see him again in October of '88, but Chris Blackwell's broken arm pushed the show into December, and I believe it was the last show of the tour. Much of the material had changed, and I'm glad I caught them twice.

I occasionally get the chance to back up national acts when they pass through town, and had talked to the music contractor who was booking America West Arena when the Page/Plant '95 tour came through Phoenix. I'd seen them using brass with the orchestra on the UnLedded show, and was looking forward to playing the gig with the local orchestra, but they didn't use brass in our segment of the tour. Though a friend of mine did play with them on violin. She told me most of the local string players had no idea who Led Zeppelin was--that's how clueless many orchestral musicians are (but not all). I'm a commercial player (rock/jazz/whatever) as opposed to classical, but I love guitar music too.

I've got a pile of Zeppelin bootleg LPs that are waiting for me to convert them to CD. Maybe someday I'll get around to it. Anyway, I've been planning to join this forum for a long time now, and I'm looking forward to meeting everyone.

I'll close by pointing out that I just joined the TCV board, and the new albums is great! Go JPJ!

I had tickets to see him again in October of '88, but Chris Blackwell's broken arm pushed the show into December, and I believe it was the last show of the tour. Much of the material had changed, and I'm glad I caught them twice.