How can I play Led Zeppelin songs better on guitar?

Alexa

Hello, all!

I'm a self taught guitarist, and I'm really struggling with these Zeppelin songs. I have a hand-me-down acoustic guitar that's rather large for me (I'm quite short), so that's one of several obstacles. I'm trying to tackle the acoustic songs, and so far, nothing good. They're rather difficult, and they always sound really crappy when I play them (but the guitar is very nice despite the fact that it's a hand-me-down). I have no clue how to play with a pick, but everything else I play that's not Zeppelin sounds pretty good without it anyhow. Is the pick (or rather lack thereof) the problem? Any tips you have are greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

Your fellow Zep-head,

Alexa

Hello, all!

I'm a self taught guitarist, and I'm really struggling with these Zeppelin songs. I have a hand-me-down acoustic guitar that's rather large for me (I'm quite short), so that's one of several obstacles. I'm trying to tackle the acoustic songs, and so far, nothing good. They're rather difficult, and they always sound really crappy when I play them (but the guitar is very nice despite the fact that it's a hand-me-down). I have no clue how to play with a pick, but everything else I play that's not Zeppelin sounds pretty good without it anyhow. Is the pick (or rather lack thereof) the problem? Any tips you have are greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

Your fellow Zep-head,

Alexa

Many of the Zep acoustic songs are in non-standard tuning. It's not impossible to play them with normal tuning, but they won't sound as authentic. You should try to find some tablature online, or even pay for it. There are some good Zep compilation tab books out there. That will show show all the fingerings and tunings.

I don't think it's down to the lack of a pick. Many great guitarists don't use them.