How can I justify a lie?

joe (Liverpool)

This may seem petty to some of you, but to me it has become a catastrophe...Let me explain, this morning I was just awaking from my slumber on the couch (where I have been sleeping for five years). Anyway an old card holder I used to use was on the floor.Please bear in mind this is about 4.00 am, anyway I just rummaged through it and found three £20. notes. I haven't used this wallet for at least two years.Thinking I could do some good I told my wife(who was in work) and my 13 year old daughter, that I had found two £20 notes and that I would give £20 to her mother and I would have £20 for myself. Feeling happy with the situation I went out and bought some groceries, (as many tins that you can shake a stick at).Anyway I spent the best part of £40 on items that we needed, I gave my wife a £20 note and explained that I had spent my share on groceries. This was all true, unfortunately, my daughter had already rummaged through the aforesaid wallet and called me a liar. She said that she had found the notes before I did, and that there was £60 not £40.How do I explain that I was doing good, I received nothing from the find, yet I am made to feel like a criminal. I understand that I will eat the essentials that I purchased, but to even consider that I was a liar and most of all dishonest, absolutely fucks me up. Did I do wrong? I spent the money I had found on my family, yet I am made to feel like a crook.My wife still has her £20....I have spent my share on shopping. My daughter says that I am a liar, I am at my wits end, how can I explain that I did it for the best. I could have kept it secret and spent it on myself (not my style at all). Now I just think that my wife and two daughters don't trust me, has anybody else experienced such a problem?

Just tell the truth about how you did spend the 40 pounds that you spent, and also why you told them there was only 40 instead of 60.