John Bonham's Jenson Interceptors

David Finch

I am a photographer and Led Zeppelin fan - I have acquired a photo of what I think Is one of John Bonham's Jenson Interceptors JB 12.

I had worked for the car import company (as photographer) that was formed when Jenson folded around '76. I was asked if I wanted any old photo's when I called in about five years ago - the HQ had moved and the old building was going to be demolished. Not having the time to sort through I loaded boxes of old negs and trannies into my car. I now find I have an image of a dark green Jenson Interceptor. While working there I remember being told that John Bonham had his Jenson serviced round the corner at the old Jenson premises - I think the photo was taken on the sports field behind the houses opposite the old Jenson site. Can anyone confirm this is one his cars? I believe he had several Interceptors. I have been given the copyright to sell the images I have and would like to so with this one.

post-24624-0-00689100-1359653586_thumb.j

I notice the buildings in the background may be the Eve Hill towers in Dudley as depicted on the Led Zeppelin IV album cover.

I've read John Bonham may have owned as many as seven different Interceptors. Perhaps Jason Bonham can provide some insight.

There is a allegedly a post somewhere on the net from a mechanic who used to work at Newbury Motors, Manor Lane, Halesowen (former Jensen dealer). He reminisces about Bonham bringing his Jensens and Rolls Royce there for service. On one occasion he allegedly took all the workshop boys over the road to the Rose and Crown and bought the drinks.

On page 85 of the Mick Bonham book 'Bonham by Bonham' there is apparently a photo of John Bomham washing AJW70H, an early MK II, Pimpernel/Black leather model.

Here is a link of interest:

http://blogs.mirror....ed-balloon.html