tuning and tuners

ScarletMacaw

As I mentioned before, I started playing the guitar again last year after not playing in 3 decades. I could have sworn, when I used to play guitar, that the guitar would get flat and tuning it meant tuning it in one direction. I have a Yamaha acoustic and an Epiphone Les Paul 100 electric. They both go out of tune sharp. This seems weird to me. Isn't it against the laws of physics? The only cause I can think of is changes in humidity in the apartment.

The acoustic has a built-in tuner that I think is pretty accurate. I have a clip-on electric tuner for the electric. It's an intellitouch PT10. I do not have faith in it. The LED display sometimes can't seem to make up its mind what the note is. It can't be the battery because I just changed it. I have wondered if I am clipping it onto the guitar wrong but I don't know if that would make a difference. It even seems to change its mind as to whether the note is sharp or flat.

Also the Epiphone seems to be very hard to tune and goes out of tune constantly. I'm embarrassed to admit I bought it over the internet. I really am thinking I should get rid of it and buy something else. I also found out it's not a real Les Paul in that it is about 3 lbs lighter than the Les Paul Standard.

I'm just not sure if I should buy a new tuner or a new electric guitar. Or both.

If they haven't been used in a while, firstly put new strings on - old strings get corroded and sometimes stick at the nut, or jag a bit at the saddles on the bridge (for electric guitars).
Before you put the new strings get a pencil (HB or B ) and use the pencil lead to lubricate the nut - literally draw in the slots! The graphite is nice and slippy and should help stop the strings from sticking there.