Bring It On Home

Ed A

So am I the only here who finds this alternate take to be the gem of all gems!!!.... Sure, love Pod and Keep On Raining, but man my head is still spinning over this alternate take of Bring it on Home.... Im biased because Zep II is my fave album, always will be and as a guitarist, I have alway thought that Jimmys aggressive playing and tone on those two note chords under the vocals is some of the best shit Ive EVER heard recorded. So to hear that awesome sound one more time in a different take blows me away.... And Jimmy never got that sound live which makes this even more special to me..... PLUS I love how we are hearing what I believe is the band pretty much learning the song in the studio... my guess is that by later that day they had the track down... this earlier version is all over the place, the arrangement has not been figured out yet.... according to the notes this was recorded July 24, '69 at Alantic during a three day break before heading out to the west coast.... As I said my guess is they got the backing track down by the end of the session and finished overdubs afterwards... If I remember correctly I believe Plant put down his final vocals a few days later in Vancouver.... LOVE to hear how quickly this song developed from this alternate take to the final take...

And that opening line: 'All you pretty women, staying out all night long!'.... c'mon you young whippersnappers, THIS is why Zeppelin ruled!