2017 Total Eclipse of the Sun Across the USA

The Rover

Happy Eclipse Day!

Unfortunately we have been getting a heavy marine layer in the mornings the past few days and today is more of the same. The Eclipse starts 9:05am and hits its peak at 10:21am. It's doubtful it will burn off in time.

Best of luck in your viewing area. I had "Dark Side of the Moon" ready to crank.

The coverage here on the East coast is starting at 1 pm and is being aired nationally for two hours.  I am taping it in case I had forgotten.  I studied Astronomy in college so I have more than an average layman's understanding of terms in Astronomy.  Astronomical Units for instance being the yard stick for measuring distance in outer space.  A spectrometer to know the make up of a star.  Blues and Red Giants.  Solar and lunar eclipse's.  Now I happen to live in a terrible place to be an astronomer.  Though the year I studied I was fortunate to see comet Hyakataki run, and not only with the naked eye but even better with binoculars.  For those that do not know, the moon will block the sun for a short time and in certain area's on Earth, the eclipse will be total.  Not here where I am.  Understanding time and distance is one of the most significant topics to learn in astronomy.  We depend 100% on the Sun for our survival.  Any fluctuation in its relation to Earth could have catastrophic consequences.  As could an asteroid.  It will be interesting to see how in depth the coverage will go today.  The Apollo missions though long ago, really brought out our interest in outer space.  It seems like its been all down hill since Apollo 13.  A Gemini or early Apollo disaster was more understandable than the Challenger.  Even flights like TWA 800 and Malasia 370 were events that never should have happened in a post Apollo 11 world.  This eclipse once again gives us reason to look to the heavens.  Something that we should do more of. 

20 minutes ago, LedZeppfan1977 said: