Earls Court - May 24, 1975 (ANOTHER TONE THREAD - SORRY!)

sethlqg

Hi guys!

So I'm really new to guitars (in fact, I don't even own one yet!) and I'm wondering if it's at all possible to get this kind of sound out of a good guitar and a small-ish amp (10-15W - I think it would be stupid to put a Marshall SLP in my house, because my neighbours would complain)? I SIMPLY CAN'T STAND THE TONE OF HIS GUITAR AT 1:20:08~

I know some of you really know your onions when it comes to Page's tone, so I was wondering if it's possible to get this tone and, more importantly, how?

If I can't get a good, meaty sound out of a guitar without getting a 200 W Marshall, then I might just give up on electric and just play a cheap acoustic for laughs every now and then.

Thanks guys :)

Hi guys! So I want to start playing guitar, but before I go out and buy the equipment I'd like to know if it's at all possible to achieve the sound I want, particularly the sound Page got on May 24, 1975.

I've already done quite a lot of research, but most of what I found was 'Marshall SLP1959 + Les Paul', but when I look at demos of the stuff on Youtube it doesn't sound close to what I want (although, this may be in large part due to Page using a wah pedal). So is it possible to get a '59 Les Paul VOS and say, a Marshall SLP1959 or even an SV20H? I think a huge part of the sound is probably from the insane volume, which I obviously can't get to in my bedroom...

So, I know a lot of you are 'tone freaks' so I wonder if you can give me any advice on this?

If you listen to this: https://youtu.be/Qzg0Je6A7gY?t=4808 

THAT'S THE TONE I WANT TO GET and being a total noob, I have no idea if I can get anywhere near this with standard equipment?

Thanks guys! :)