Why Earl's Court?

Gratefulzepp

I've been a Zeppelin fan since I was a child. I'm as big of a fan as all of you on here. I've been collecting bootlegs since 1993 when I got introduced to a store in Greenwich Village here in NYC. I remember when I got deep into my bootleg obsession and had a healthy Zeppelin bootleg collection I found I couldn't get into the 1975 tour too much. I tried, there are some decent gems from that tour but Plants vocals and Jimmys increasing sloppiness, I would usually skip that tour. Now to the topic at hand...

Through out the years I've noticed that the Earl's Court shows are very popular among us Zepp freaks. Hardcore fans wish Page would release the Earls Court shows officially and it's talked about a lot. Granted there are some nice gems from those 5 nights, I never understood why these shows are so favored for? Plants voice sounds wrecked more times than not, Page plays goods here and there but is mostly sloppy. The band at times sound tired and uninspired. There's a couple of good No Quarters, the acoustic sets are decent enough and Tangerine sounds nice on the double neck but, I feel the Earl's Court shows are rather average at best. I know it's a matter of opinion of course. I was just wondering why these shows are a fan favorite and why us hardcore fans want an official release so bad? Would be interested in all your opinions on this.

The Earls Court gigs are similar to Bath 1970, Electric Magic 1971, and Knebworth 1979 in as much as they were milestone gigs that allowed Zeppelin to flex their stardom in front of their home audience. As such, they are more about the event and spectacle, and less about the quality of the gigs themselves. A “homecoming” is still a homecoming, regardless of whether the band is truly on fire or not.