Is "Tangerine" off pitch?

mehusen

Okay, so first of all: I'm a huge Zeppelin fan, and Robert's voice is in my eyes one of the greatest of all time. However, there's one song I have always felt that something's wrong: Tangerine. More specifically, it sounds like he miss the notes, especially on the high note at 1.15. I'm by no means an expert when it comes to notes, but there's something that doesn't sound right in my ears. Thoughts on this? 

Hold on, Isn't Jimmy singing on the chorus parts ? This whole thing is made very complicated because of all the remasters

and remixes, Jimmy could well have either deleted his vocal or studio-pushed it into pitch. I'm a musician, at least to me if Plant is off ,  it's barely or he is out for 1/2 a second if that climbing to the "proper" pitch. Remember that done properly being out of pitch just a smudge could add personality to a track. Back then Robert's voice had tremendous range and I can't imagine Tangerine being  hard for him to nail.

12 hours ago, 1998giventofly said:

Might just be the double tracked vocals sounding dissonant on that one part.

Bingo, Robert is not off-pitch, its the double tracked vocals where the background track is slightly off-time which causes this dissonance at that one part. I like it, it adds personality.

11 hours ago, Mithril46 said:

Hold on, Isn't Jimmy singing on the chorus parts ? This whole thing is made very complicated because of all the remasters

and remixes, Jimmy could well have either deleted his vocal or studio-pushed it into pitch. I'm a musician, at least to me if Plant is off ,  it's barely or he is out for 1/2 a second if that climbing to the "proper" pitch. Remember that done properly being out of pitch just a smudge could add personality to a track. Back then Robert's voice had tremendous range and I can't imagine Tangerine being  hard for him to nail.