Acoustic Guitars

MHD

I have wanted to learn acoustic for ages but shyed away from actually going out and buying one.

I really need some non technical total beginners advice...just a few pointers in the right direction. Also, can you effectively learn through books/DVDs? or are lessons the way to go? I know there will be a few of you guys who play..If you don't wanna do a long reply on the forum please feel free to PM or email me.

Thanks in advance.

I have wanted to learn acoustic for ages but shyed away from actually going out and buying one.

I really need some non technical total beginners advice...just a few pointers in the right direction. Also, can you effectively learn through books/DVDs? or are lessons the way to go? I know there will be a few of you guys who play..If you don't wanna do a long reply on the forum please feel free to PM or email me.

Thanks in advance.

Expect to spend at least 200$ for a guitar. You want something that is somewhat playable and of fair quality that will during your beginner's tenure. Anything less will be a compromise and not enjoyable to learn on.

I've never used any instruction DVDs ... I'm sure there are some good ones. But the most fun I had learning when I first started was by using a chord book. Just a catalogue of simple to complex chords. You will have immediate gratification if you can strum something that sounds good right away. Melody and rhythm will come once your hands become strong enough to strum a few simple chords...and your ears learn to hear what chords go together (a good chord book will show you the relations of the chords anyway).

That's where I would start.

Then, after you get the hang of how the guitar feels, maybe get some lessons, or hang out with other folks who may be beginners, but are more advanced than you. Jamming with others is the best way to learn.

~666