London

JethroTull

Any advice, suggestions for an American tourist in London? This is my first time there. I'm going there with my mother(she's 82) during the end of March for one week. Last time I checked ticketmaster UK there were no concerts that interested me. I already have tickets for Speed the Plow at the Old Vic Theather starring Kevin Spacey and Jeff Goldblum.

Also, interesting day trips anybody can recommend would be appreciated.

It depends what your interests are I guess. There are a number of museums/galleries etc well worth seeing, not to mention all the historical locations.

Not much happening gig-wise in March. The Eagles are playing the O2 towards the end of the month but the tickets are very expensive - presumably the reason why the dates aren't sold out.

London can be hard on the feet if you're sightseeing (and bearing in mind your 82 year companion) it might be a good idea to go on a sightseeing trip by riverboat. Chugging down the Thames past the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben is pretty cool!

St Paul's Cathedral (where Charles & Diana were married), Westminster Abbey, the Tower of London, plus Buckingham Palace are all on most people's "must see" lists when visiting London for the first time. If you go to Buckingham Palace, try to be there for the Changing of the Guard, which is a ceremony worth seeing.

You could also consider a trip out to Greenwich to see the observatory. You can see the line in the ground which marks the Greenwich Meridian (marking GMT). It's very close to the O2 Arena as well!

Hope you have a great time. :)

Lilith kinda brought up something I was going to mention, all of the walking! I wasn't completely prepared so my suggestion is, very comfortable walking shoes.

I saw all the stuff the previous poster mentioned (apart from the observatory) and it was very cool. We walked through St. James's Park when we visited Buckingham Palace and I thought it was really nice. Don't forget about Big Ben :D