Blu-Ray & HD-DVD

Zephyrus

hope there isn't already a thread about this, I've looked and can't find one. if there is, someone point me in the right direction please...

I've heard a lot about this Blu-Ray and HD DVD "format wars" crap lately and how Blu-Ray has supposedly won. basically what I'm hearing is that movies will now pretty much come out on Blue-Ray as opposed to HD DVD, but what I'm interested in is regular DVDs, the kind that I've been using for the last 2 or 3 years. I ask because most of my small movie collection consists of concert footage on regular, normal, everyday DVDs. I can't really find out anything about how this will affect the production of normal DVDs. I really couldn't care less about having any of this "HD" junk, as far as I'm concerned it's over-hyped, just a way to make more money, and I don't see any difference between HD and regular DVDs that warrants buying them over the normal ones. so what I'd like to know is: are normal DVDs effectively done for? and if so, would normal DVDs still be supported by these "wonder to end all wonders" Blu-Ray players that I expect will be coming out soon? in other words, am I going to have to go out and replace all my damn DVDs with this Blu-Ray trash?

thank you for any help you may have in answering my question ;)

hope there isn't already a thread about this, I've looked and can't find one. if there is, someone point me in the right direction please...