Never Played Live

MHD

Whilst watching Supergroup last night, Jason was telling all about how Bonzo came up with a little ditty which Jimmy developed into Out On The Tiles. He went on to say that it was never played live in its entirety. It got me wondering why some songs never get played live. Tracks like Hats Off.. you can understand but OOTT is a dynamic, energy filled song that imo would of sounded fantastic live.

I'm no musician, but maybe technical or arrangment difficulties are the reason?? Anyone any thoughts on this?

Whilst watching Supergroup last night, Jason was telling all about how Bonzo came up with a little ditty which Jimmy developed into Out On The Tiles. He went on to say that it was never played live in its entirety. It got me wondering why some songs never get played live. Tracks like Hats Off.. you can understand but OOTT is a dynamic, energy filled song that imo would of sounded fantastic live.

I'm no musician, but maybe technical or arrangment difficulties are the reason?? Anyone any thoughts on this?

Yes I have heard that story before and it makes me love Bonzo even more. The song was about going out drinking - Out on the Tiles being slang for getting drunk.

OOTT was used as the intro to Black Dog in '73. Why not played in it's entirety? i suppose they already had several songs from III in the set. Have to make room for one thing to put in another. I guess it has to do with how the band felt about the songs and the overall flow of the shows.

Except Jason was wrong - they certainly played Out on the Tiles in full at least twice (9/4/70 in LA and 9/19 in NYC).

He actually said that Robert and Jimmy had told him that they had never played it live..and that they (as in Robert and Jimmy) thought it would be cool if Supergroup did it as part of their set.

Unless some unscrupulous editing of the show has been going on.

Confusing :unsure:

OOTT was used as the intro to Black Dog in '73.