Guitar Solos

MistyMountain67

so i have been playing the guitar for 6 years now and im pretty good. but i still can't solo that good for some reason.

what can i do to be awsome at guitar solos ?

What solos are you trying to play? Have you learnt the basic scales - major, minor, pentatonic, blues etc.

What is it about your solo-ing you aren't happy about? Speed?

Whatever the guy above me said.

When i was in a band, i wanted a guitar solo for my guitarist. he wasn't smart musically, he could just play real good. so i told him play The Rover solo over this song which would fit, change as necessary. So he practiced that song with the rover solo. when it got time to play it live, he didn't exactly played that rover solo, because he knew where he should be and he improvised from it.

The best way to get good is to play...... A LOT! Jamming with other musicians is best, but playing over a rhythm track is an option. Record the rhythm part to a solo section that you are working on and practice soloing over it. You will find the right notes and develop speed over time. Learning scales is great, but developing "feel" is the next step. When you know what it will sound like before you play it, during improvisation, you will be able to create better solos.

I work out my solos individually for each song. They change during live sets, but I usually have a rough "form" for them that blends well with the chord progression.

Have fun, there is no magic spell that makes you great.... it takes practice!

Hey, as luck would have it I was just looking for an excuse to post this somewhere:

(may not have finished uploading just yet)

Don't know what I look so pissed off about in this video :blink: ...

Do you play with your fingers or a plectrum? I personally find it a lot easier using my fingers, means I can be a lot more accurate at speed.