Another solo topic

MATTY PAGE

Hello all,

Have been reading the solo topics further down the page and can relate to what the boys and girls are saying about solos being a pain in the arse, (maybe I need to practice more).

I've been playing for about six years but can only really play the easier zep solos (whole lotta love, living loving maid etc etc), and because of that I just end up playing the same riffs and solos over again cause there easy and I can.

Now I wanna start learning solos which are a bit more tricky BUT, within my capabilities and cause I've been playing a while believe I should be able to pull them off.

I was thinking something like ten years gone, if I do a bit at a time (even if it takes all day) I reckon I should crack songs like TYG.

What are your opinions, please help me, as I'm getting bored of playing same stuff. Does TYG sound like a realistic challenge. Is it juts a matter of playing solos constantly till your fingers bleed.

HELP!

MP:

When I started out, I learned all sorts of stuff, most of which was unrelated. As I progressed, I began to assimilate bits and pieces, and along with my own input, began to develop my own style. You don't have to learn a solo per se: fragments can be just as useful.

Which end of Dorset are you from?

RB

Hello Humbucker,

Thanks for your reply, much appreciated. I shall take on board what you say.

Awesome, another zep fan that lives in dorset. I live about ten mins from Dorchester in a village. You say your a musician, well I try to be as well!! Have been in a band or two, maybe we could jam some time and you could help me with my playing, hope you don't think I'm being cheeky!

Cheers

Hello all,

This is the bloke that started this topic.

I just wanted to say that I have proven my own point, I metioned I had difficulty learning solos (can do the easy zep ones).