Jump to content


Recommended Posts

Audio samples of all 11 tracks that are set to appear on ALICE COOPER's forthcoming album, "Along Came A Spider", are available at this location. A short trailer for the CD can be viewed http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bb2yhHmZPjQ.

Co-produced by Danny Saber, Greg Hampton and Alice himself, "Along Came A Spider" manages to marry both vintage and modern-day Alice. As theatrical as ever, the album is a sonic combination of familiar Alice musical elements from albums as diverse as "Billion Dollar Babies" and "Brutal Planet", with the storytelling of "Welcome To My Nightmare", capturing the historic dark side of Alice in peak form, an instantly recognizable presence that will be welcomed by his fans. Joining Alice on the album are members of his touring band — longtime Alice drummer Eric Singer, bassist Chuck Garric, and guitarists Keri Kelli and Jason Hook, with additional contributions from others, including Saber, Hampton, and renowned backing vocalist Bernard Fowler. Slash also lends some guitar style to "Vengeance Is Mine".

Saber and Hampton co-wrote several of the album's songs with Alice, while others were collaborations with Alice's band members. Danny Saber, best known for his role as member and producer of BLACK GRAPE, has also worked with many other artists, including THE ROLLING STONES, OZZY OSBOURNE, and DAVID BOWIE, while Greg Hampton's been working on a new album project teaming up Buckethead and Bootsy Collins.

Who else but Alice Cooper, with "Along Came A Spider", would create a "love story" about a serial killer named Spider? His trademark is wrapping his victims in silk, and his victims are specifically chosen to feed his hunger to kill. But, upon meeting his (possibly) last victim, he falls in love with her and cannot kill to complete his plan. That could be his demise.

Though it is often said about artists with as rich a history as Alice that their newest albums capture the essence of their greatest work, it may honestly be proposed that "Along Came A Spider" does exactly that. It's got hard rock with hooks, an Alice trademark ("Vengeance is Mine", "I Know Where You Live"), classic balladry, another Alice trademark ("Killed by Love", "Salvation"), and always with an overtone of evil, yet another Alice tradmark. Throughout the album, Alice BECOMES Spider, telling the story of a cold-blooded killer to life vocally, as if this were the soundtrack to an as-yet unmade horror film.

"Along Came A Spider" track listing:

01. Prologue/I Know Where You Live

02. Vengeance Is Mine

03. Wake The Dead

04. Catch Me If You Can

05. (In Touch With) Your Feminine Side

06. Wrapped In Silk

07. Killed By Love

08. I'm Hungry

09. The One That Got Away

10. Salvation

11. I Am The Spider/Epilogue

The track track, Vengeance Is Mine, is available for streaming on Cooper's MySpace page.

"Along Came A Spider" is scheduled for release on July 29 via SPV Records.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 2 months later...

Alice is in London Canada tonight...sounds like it's almost sold out!!!!!

There was a great write-uup about him yesterday in the London paper..he has a long connection with London..he and other fellow Michigan rockers (Bob Seger, MC5) did many gigs in the town in their earlier years..

Juliet B)

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...