Q&A Guitar

Sugarplum

Hi everyone. I felt it may be helpful to start a thread that allows guitarists, and musicians of any sort around here, to help each other out if they are having difficulties in transcribing, or understanding exactly what technique or effect is being used on a particular song they are trying to figure out. Any technique related questions are welcome, really. I don't necessarily mean this is a tab-request thread. I personally try to transcribe from records as best I can by ear.. But sometimes I feel like if I could just be clued in on a little part of what is going in an area of a song, I could get so much further, more quickly. I don't know.. maybe I'm just lazy sometimes :P I've been playing guitar for a few years now, but I have only been really serious about it in the past year or so, and there are certain areas of songs in which I really have no idea how an effect is being achieved. I guess I'm hoping that there are some musicians around here who are more advanced than me, and could perhaps lend a helping hand from time to time:)

Okay.. first question. To show how naive I am. You know that clapping sort of sound behind Jimmy's acoustic, John Paul's bass, and Robert's vocals during the intro of 'Ramble On'? How is that effect achieved? Is it a percussion instrument? Tapping the guitar body? An effect added later in the mixing?

^^I was wondering if it was Bonzo. It does sound like he could be hitting a pillow :D I think I recall reading somewhere, though, that Jimmy said it was an effect that was added on...?

Could be an early drum machine, it's only a simple beat.

Okay.. another question. Does anyone happen to have a list of alternate tunings used for specific Zep songs? You don't have to list the ones that are in standard.. just the ones that are played with different tunings. If someone wouldn't mind posting that, it would really help me out:)

What comes into my mind is DADGAD (Black Mountain Side/White Summer and Kashmir)