I Need Help cuz i don't know crap about guitars!

LedNoodle

alright, here's the story so far: About one year ago I got a squier strat for my birthday. I had never played guitar before. I really love music in my life, and i love playing guitar. I have an insanely good ear and can sound out most anything, and despite the fact i have little actual musical experience with guitar (i have played french horn in band for like 7 years), I would like to upgrade to a better guitar, preferably something that isn't a strat. Don't get me wrong, i love it, but i'd like to be able to get a warmer sound without sacrificing distortion and clarity. Something good for hard rock/blues-rock/more hard rock playing. I'm also on a very small budget.

I need help.

Also, I've been playing on a Crate amp that is at least 20 years old, probably a lot more. I can hook it up to my stereo speakers, but i need some advice there, too.

Educate me!

alright, here's the story so far: About one year ago I got a squier strat for my birthday. I had never played guitar before. I really love music in my life, and i love playing guitar. I have an insanely good ear and can sound out most anything, and despite the fact i have little actual musical experience with guitar (i have played french horn in band for like 7 years), I would like to upgrade to a better guitar, preferably something that isn't a strat. Don't get me wrong, i love it, but i'd like to be able to get a warmer sound without sacrificing distortion and clarity. Something good for hard rock/blues-rock/more hard rock playing. I'm also on a very small budget.

I need help.

Also, I've been playing on a Crate amp that is at least 20 years old, probably a lot more. I can hook it up to my stereo speakers, but i need some advice there, too.

Educate me!