What different languages can you speak?

ledzep45

I can speak: English (obviously), some french (I am still learning it at the moment), a bit of spanish (I am still learning it at the moment) and a bit of manderin (when I say a bit, I did a bit at school but I can't remember it now :blink: )

:D

Russian and English. Needs to learn Spanish but can't get to it, is busy... B)

Semitic languages - Arabic and Hebrew - are amazing, they're totally different from all other human languages and seen almost non-human. The words are always combined by interlacing two parts - consonants (the root) carry the semantic meaning and vowels indicate the grammatical form. For example JiHaD and MuJaHiDDiN have the same exact (semantic) root which is three consonants J-H-D (M in the 2nd word is just a prefix, and D is doubled per grammar requirements)

That is a good reason for it to be easy to learn :D

Well let me tell you somethin', even though it's my mother tongue I've always had better grades in English than in Hebrew :lol: ...I know it's kinda dumb but Hebrew is far more complicated than other languages...

Well let me tell you somethin', even though it's my mother tongue I've always had better grades in English than in Hebrew :lol: ...I know it's kinda dumb but Hebrew is far more complicated than other languages...

:lol: indeed :D

I have a minor in French (lang/lit). I'm a bit rusty speaking/writing, but still pretty fluent reading/listening. :)

I have studied beginning German and Italian; I now have a German brother in law so we are all learning more German by osmosis. My children are all learning Spanish in school, so I am learning some Spanish with them :) I will eventually take more Italian classes too, as I plan to return there one day :)

Once upon a time I was cataloguing library items in Russian (cyrillic alphabet), so although I didn't speak Russian, I knew the alphabet and was learning some vocabulary.