Looking for a new amp

Agamemnon

I'm not sure about a good model though, kind of tied between two possible choices.

Marshall MG50DFX vs. Marshall AVT50XT (both 50 watt)

or

Marshall MG100DFX vs. Marshall AVT100XT (both 100 watt)

I'm leaning towards a 50 watt, but it seems both 100w have more features.

Note: I'm not technically in a band, but its definitely coming up, so I'd have a bass player with either 50 or 75w amp, and a drummer. But mostly, I just play in my room, so I think a 100w amp would be too overpowering for such a small space. Also not sure if a 50w would get drowned out by the other instruments/singing.

Unless you are going to perform in large halls, 50 watts is more than enough. Something that is rarely mentioned is that the decibel is a logarithmic unit. You can't add and subtract these like ordinary numbers. 100 watts is going to be perceived by the human ear as roughly a 3dB increase over 50 watts, not twice as loud. However, the more powerful amplifier will give you more headroom before the sound begins to break up. It really depends on what sounds you are trying to achieve.

RB

Edited for spelling error.

Thanks, didn't realize 50 watts was that powerful. Haven't tried any yet, but this really narrows my search. And yeah, the largest place we'd play so far would only be the school auditorium.

BTW, I'd be playing a lot of Zeppelin, Hendrix, Deep Purple, those kind of bands. So I was also wondering which would better for those tones, Zeppelin especially.

Check out the Egnater Rebel 20.

Those MG's tend to sound like garbage, compared to other stuff in the same price range. The avt's are a step up, but still not worth the money. I jam with my buddy who has one regularly. He has to crank to the point of no return to cut through to compete with the Egnater and thats on the 1w setting.