"Black Dog" and "Heartbreak Hotel"?

Hermit On The Hill

3 hours ago, Hermit On The Hill said:

I'm noticing some structural parallels between Zeppelin's "Black Dog" and Elvis's "Heartbreak Hotel". I'm referring mainly to the acapella sections paired with the full instrument sections in both songs.

Can anyone back me up on this, or am I really out of my mind?

Word on the street is that it was inspired by Fleetwood Mac's 'Oh Well', which also has that similar structure.

While I somewhat agree with Heartbreak Hotel, I just don't hear it in Oh Well. Similar ideas in all 3, thats why most of us probably enjoy Black Dog, Oh Well, and Heartbreak Hotel. IMO borrowing and "inspired by" music is just part of the songwriting game.

Take somebody, say... John Paul Jones. In the taxi, he heard Oh Well, and enjoyed it. A week later was jamming with Page and Bonham trying out new material and exploring. You know? I'm not a career musician or anything, but I've written songs that turned out sounding almost identical to the songs from my Pandora playlist from earlier in the day. Haha B)

Is borrowing intentional? Kinda a grey area there.

Ps. and hey, since Plant wrote the song, at least in part, & lately plays Black Dog as a blues, I think you're right. Heartbreak Hotel. 

I remember reading that Jonesy also took inspiration from Muddy Waters 'Electric Mud' album, although it was later revealed that he actually meant Howlin' Wolfs 'This is Howlin' Wolf's New Album'.