Jump to content


Recommended Posts


SPINAL TAP Is 'Back From The Dead'

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the cult classic film "This is Spinal Tap", and now England's "loudest heavy metal band," SPINAL TAP, is celebrating with the release of its first new album in almost two decades, "Back From The Dead" (The Label Industry Records/Artist2Market/INgrooves). Due on Tuesday, June 16, 2009, the follow-up to 1992's "Break Like The Wind" sees TAP members David St. Hubbins, Nigel Tufnel and Derek Smalls unearth their long-self-suppressed studio versions of the classic songs from the movie "This is Spinal Tap", as well as six new additional tracks and an exclusive hour-long accompanying DVD featuring a track-by-track video commentary by the band. "Back From The Dead" also features guest appearances by Phil Collen (DEF LEPPARD), Keith Emerson, John Mayer and Steve Vai.

"This album title says it all. We're back from the dead. But we weren't dead. But we definitely are back," proclaimed Hubbins.

"Back From The Dead" is a deluxe CD/DVD package aggressively priced and containing 19 original SPINAL TAP songs, a one-hour DVD and unique pop-up diorama package that unveils three 12-inch action figures (courtesy of Sideshow Collectibles) of the band along with a proportionally sized Stonehenge.

"Back From The Dead" is destined to be a collector's item, especially among collectors. The LP includes the newly interpreted TAP classics "Hell Hole", "Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight", "Heavy Duty", "Rock 'n' Roll Creation", "America", "Cups and Cakes", "Big Bottom", "Sex Farm", "Stonehenge", "Gimme Some Money" and "(Listen to the) Flower People".

"While the movie and soundtrack accurately represented our stage sound at the time, the studio versions of these songs on this album represent the cosmic maturation of the material, within a digital context. Also, they're louder," stated Smalls.

The new songs recorded specifically for "Back From The Dead" include "Warmer Than Hell", "Short and Sweet", "Celtic Blues", "Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare", "Back From The Dead" and "the first known studio recording of the soon-to-be-long-forgotten 'Jazz Oddyssey'."

"Back From The Dead" was produced by CJ Vanston, who arranged and played keyboards on the band's "Break Like The Wind" album and was musical director for their 1992, 2000 and 2007 tours. As a film composer, he has produced music for Christopher Guest's movies "Waiting For Guffman", "Best In Show", "A Mighty Wind" and "For Your Consideration".

The "Back From The Dead" deluxe CD/DVD package is being distributed completely outside of the traditional major label infrastructure. Retail distribution and marketing of physical CDs will be handled by Artist2Market (A2M) while digital marketing and distribution will be serviced by INgrooves.

"Back From The Dead" track listing:

01. Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight

02. Back From The Dead

03. (Funky) Sex Farm

04. Rock 'n' Roll Creation

05. Jazz Oddyssey I

06. Gimme Some Money

07. Rock 'n' Roll Nightmare

08. Heavy Duty

09. America

10. Jazz Oddyssey II

11. (Listen to the) Flower People (Reggae Stylee)

12. Hell Hole

13. Big Bottom

14. Celtics Blues

15. Jazz Oddyssey III

16. Warmer Than Hell

17. Stonehenge

18. Short and Sweet

19. Cups and Cakes

In addition to the above 19 songs, fans of SPINAL TAP can find a free download for the previously unreleased "Saucy Jack" from Hubbins' unfinished musical about Jack the Ripper on the band's web site, www.spinaltap.com. There are also rumors that there will be exclusive versions of "Sex Farm" and "(Listen to the) Flower People" available on certain digital outlets. And if that is not enough, the band will be releasing a very special 11-inch, limited-edition vinyl version of "Back From The Dead".

Edited by The Pagemeister
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 9 years later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 4 years later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...