Influence or Resemblance

aeonblue

There are a lot of bands that have a certain resemblance or have been influenced by Zeppelin, most of them are well known but since, in my opinion, rock is almost completely non-existent in this times, which "newer" bands that have this characteristic do you think are worth to check out?

My reccomendation would be The Mars Volta, i think that the influence goes beyond the vocals besides that you can hear echoes of some other greats. All their albums are, in my opinion, very good.

Here´s a couple of tracks of their most popular album...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgD9btrMdP0

I've been saying it for 8 years now but The White Stripes. Their first 3 albums in particular. They're not a carbon copy of Zep at all & sounding like Zeppelin was never their intent but they have elements in common that relate to guitar/drums dynamics, production, & the blues material each band covered & how they approached those songs. I can't understand how some people do not hear similar elements between The Stripes "Death Letter" & "Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground" to Zep's "IMTOD" & "The Rover" respectively. To me it's right there but in a much more stripped back form.

Aeonblue, I've been preaching the Mars Volta Zep connection for years. They have the same "feeling" of live Zep through many of their studio tracks. I really love Frances the Mute; it's so wonderfully dense and whimsical.

Kaiser, the same with TWS. I was even perplexed that for It Might Get Loud they picked Jack White since he was such a similar guitarist as Jimmy, IMO. He's a bit of a throwback to the early days of Page's experience with multi-track recording, by choice whereas Jimmy was pushing the studio forward; Jack seems to revel in deconstructing it.