Jump to content

Music Legends Pay Tribute To The Black Keys

Recommended Posts

Music Legends Pay Tribute To The Black Keys

posted July 5, 2012


On July 17, Cleopatra Records is releasing Black on Blues, an all-star tribute to The Black Keys featuring artists from all genres of music.Iggy Pop, Ginger Baker, Albert Lee, and Doug Kershaw are just some of the contributors.

Hailing from Akron, Ohio, The Black Keys is Dan Auerbach (guitars and vocals) and Patrick Carney (drums).As part of the heavily blues-based garage rock revival, the duo has sold millions of records in its decade of recording and touring.From festival headlining to national ad campaigns, The Black Keys has gone from indie buzz band to sometimes controversial major player earning honor from the classic artists that have paved the way.

Many such classic artists with hefty blues credentials appear on Black on Blues.The legendary Iggy Pop (of the Stooges), whose new record dropped May 9, performs with epic drummer Ginger Baker (Cream, Blind Faith).Walter Trout’s new blues record is a chart-topper, and Oli Brown Band is the winner of 2011 British Blues Awards for Best Band of the Year and Best Album of the Year.Cyril Neville and Devon Allman (both with family legacy) and Mike Zito are all Blues Music Awards winners.Dave Davies (the Kinks), Albert Lee, Pat Travers, Larry McCray, and Tab Benoit continue to record and perform internationally.

Why did so many established artists jump on to The Black Keys tribute? Fiddler extraordinaire Doug Kershaw, who recorded “I’ll Be Your Man,” said, “I love the raw bone rock music of the Black Keys. I'll tell you a secret. Singing the song was easy, but for the first time ever when I played my fiddle I felt like it was getting in the way of the great simplicity that makes their music sooo good.”Huw Lloyd-Langton(Hawkwind) added, “As an American Rock Duo, they are writers and performers of great blues-based music, which is pretty much my background. To be asked to contribute to this project was an honour.” “I LOVE THIS FRIGGIN GROUP. Great songs and great melodies.Sometimes you need talent, sometimes you need luck. This was luck being asked to do this album,” said Leslie West. And Dave Davies put it simply as, “I loved doing it.It was great fun to be part of this project.Cool rockin’ track.”

Black on Blues was mastered by Grammy Award-winner Brian Lucey, who has mastered several of The Black Keys albums, including the most recent, El Camino.

Track List:

  • Lonely Boy - Iggy Pop, Ginger Baker
  • Tighten Up - Walter Trout
  • Next Girl - Oli Brown Band
  • Money Maker - Dave Davies, Huw Lloyd Langton
  • Girl Is On My Mind - Mike Zito, Cyril Neville
  • Howlin For You - Albert Lee
  • Little Black Submarines - Devon Allman, Mani Neumeier
  • Everlasting Light - Pat Travers
  • Gold On The Ceiling - Tab Benoit
  • I Got Mine - Leslie West
  • Chop And Change - Larry McCray
  • I'll Be Your Man - Doug Kershaw
  • Dead And Gone - Jackie Lomax
  • When The Lights Go Out - Papa Mali


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...