Jump to content

Rated X


Recommended Posts

Rated X Featuring Joe Lynn Turner, Carmine Appice, Tony Franklin: 'This Is Who I Am' Video Released

"This Is Who I Am", (see post #2) is the new video from Rated X (formerly Legacy X), the new band featuring legendary vocalist Joe Lynn Turner (Rainbow, Deep Purple, Yngwie Malmsteen), drummer Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge, Cactus, Mother's Army), bassist Tony Franklin (The Firm, Blue Murder) and guitarist Karl Cochran (Joe Lynn Turner, Nuclear Assault). The song is taken from Rated X's debut album, which will be released in Europe on November 7 and in North America on November 11 via Frontiers Music Srl, the italian-based label known for embracing new music from legendary rock artists. The CD features all-new songs built upon a classic hard rock foundation, with a distinctly contemporary edge.

Rated X was formed at the suggestion of Frontiers president Serafino Perugino, who mentioned to singer Joe Lynn Turner that a band of highest-caliber musicians should be assembled to create an album of classic hard rock music. Turner, the former lead vocalist for both Rainbow and Deep Purple and a solo artist in his own right, agreed, and the search for the right players was on. Carmine Appice, who already had a relationship with Frontiers, was on board immediately. A true percussion icon, Appice's resume is one that rock legends are made of: Vanilla Fudge, Cactus, Ozzy Osbourne, Rod Stewart, Blue Murder, King Kobra and others.

Appice's former Blue Murder bandmate and bassist Tony Franklin (best known for his work with The Firm, Jimmy Page, Paul Rodgers, David, Kate Bush and Whitesnake) signed up next. After a lengthy search for the right guitarist, they settled on longtime Turner collaberator Karl Cochran, who has also worked with Ace Frehley in the past.

"I believe we wanted to keep it a bit retro with a modern edge," says Turner. "The songs are classic rock, but then that's an understatement. They are what they are; and they transformed as we went along recording. So, all in all, we are very happy to finish the record and finally able to get it out to the public. Everyone in this band is a true individual and stylist. When you put it all together, you have Rated X."

The debut album, simply titled "Rated X", is remarkable in that it sounds like a band that has worked together as a unit for years. The songs are powerful and the performances are tight and innovative. Frontiers in-house producer Alessandro del Vecchio not only handled studio production but added keyboards on several tracks. Pat Regan (Mr. Big, Deep Purple, Gotthard, Kiss, Doro) mixed the album.

Says Appice: "With [Alessandro's] help in coming up with the song ideas and working together with the band, I believe we came up with the sound from the late '70s-'80s. To me, it sounds like Blue Murder with Joe Lynn Turner singiing. Having Tony and myself as the rhythm section and with the heavy guitars, it gives the record a Blue Murder vibe. Then, adding Alessandro on keys gave us a bit of the Deep Purple thing. It all works together and I loved playing each song."

"Rated X" track listing:

01. Get Back My Crown

02. This Is Who I Am

03. Fire And Ice

04. I Don't Cry No More

05. Lhasa

06. Devil In Disguise

07. You Are The Music

08. Peace Of Mind

09. Maybe Tonight

10. On The Way To Paradise

11. Our Love Is Not Over

12. Stranger In Us All




Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...