Half Stacks and Full stacks

facetious11

Im kinda new to stacks, ive been using combos 4 a while i was just wanting to learn more about them. How does a full stack create more volume if it is just more speakers, so it seems to me a full stack would be waste, because 50 watts is 50 watts right? No matter how many speakers. Thats just my thought, correct me if im wrong. What really made me think of this is that i want an 18 watt marshall, but im thinking it would be way too quiet, but there is a little extra extension cab and i wondered if that would do any good for the volume.

Im kinda new to stacks, ive been using combos 4 a while i was just wanting to learn more about them. How does a full stack create more volume if it is just more speakers, so it seems to me a full stack would be waste, because 50 watts is 50 watts right? No matter how many speakers. Thats just my thought, correct me if im wrong. What really made me think of this is that i want an 18 watt marshall, but im thinking it would be way too quiet, but there is a little extra extension cab and i wondered if that would do any good for the volume.

I have an extension cab port for my Bass combo. The only reason i could think of plugging an extenison would be for a 15in speaker to get more bass. But my big rig is a set a set of 4x10 and 1x15. It's not lounder, but it's defintly a stronger feeling. I never understood the reason for a full stack, maybe you could crank the amp up for tonal purpose and not blow the speakers with a full stack. I don't think ive seen page with a full stack, but he had his amp rewired for reasons im not sure of. plus unless yuore in a small club, youre cabs get miked to one speaker only. i don't want to be wrong here, so ill try to dig more up.

Prepare for shop talk. or science content.