Jump to content

Pink Floyd wins 2008 Polar Prize


Recommended Posts

Pink Floyd wins the 2008 Polar Prize

About the Prize

The Polar Music Prize was founded in 1989 by the late Stig ”Stikkan” Anderson, one of

the true greats in the history of popular music. As the publisher, lyricist and manager of

ABBA, he played a key role in their enormous success. It's name stems from Anderson´s

legendary record label, Polar Records. The Polar Music Prize is one of the most prestigious

and unique music prizes in the world, crossing over musical boundaries and awarded to

individuals, groups and institutions in recognition of exceptional achievements.

The board of the Stig Anderson Music Award Foundation includes representatives from the

Stig Anderson family, SKAP (The Swedish Society of Popular Music Composers) and STIM

(The Swedish Performing Rights Society). The task of scrutinizing nominations submitted

and selecting the ultimate laureates is undertaken by an Award Committee comprising

of experienced members of the music industry.

Laureates from a wide range of countries, cultures and continents have received the Prize

in Stockholm from the hand of His Majesty, King Carl XVI.

Sir Paul McCartney, Dizzy Gillespie, Witold Lutoslawski, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Quincy Jones,

Mstislav Rostropovitch, Sir Elton John, Joni Mitchell, Pierre Boulez, Bruce Springsteen, Eric

Ericson, Ray Charles, Ravi Shankar, Iannis Xenakis, Stevie Wonder, Bob Dylan, Isaac Stern,

Burt Bacharach, Robert Moog, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Sofia Gubaidulina, Miriam Makeba,

Keith Jarrett, B.B. King, György Ligeti, Gilberto Gil and Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Valery

Gergiev, Led Zeppelin, Steve Reich and Sonny Rollins have all been bestowed with

the Prize since its inception in 1992. In 1992, the Baltic States were also awarded

the Prize to encourage them in their work for protection of copyright.


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...