d'yer mak'er + me love by sean kingston

dazednconfuzed

hey im new here but i just thought it was my duty as a zeppelin worshipper to tell ppl. i dont know if you guys already knew this or not but in Sean Kingston's recent song "Me Love", he stole the Ohh, oh oh oh oh ohhhhh, part from D'yer Mak'er. its really similar. im not a lawyer but it sounds like copyright infringement to me. do you guys know if they are taking any legal actions or anything about this?

hey im new here but i just thought it was my duty as a zeppelin worshipper to tell ppl. i dont know if you guys already knew this or not but in Sean Kingston's recent song "Me Love", he stole the Ohh, oh oh oh oh ohhhhh, part from D'yer Mak'er. its really similar. im not a lawyer but it sounds like copyright infringement to me. do you guys know if they are taking any legal actions or anything about this?

1. We know about it.

2. It's called "sampling", which is perfectly legal provided the artist doing the sampling got permission to use it. Led Zeppelin can't sue unless they can prove the sample was stolen and the band was given no credit. Then they'd be due royalties from the sales of the song.

In this day and age, I'm guessing that the interpolation was cleared and paid for. It's not a sample, as some have said (as a sample involves using the actual song and an interpolation is an artist using a vocal or musical idea from another artist). An example of this would be Ice Cube's "Bop Gun" which uses an idea from George Clinton's "One Nation Under A Groove".

Anyway, I don't plan on purchasing the CD but if you own it, look in the credits. It should say "Contains an interpolation of Led Zeppelin's 'D'yer Mak'er' from the album Houses of the Holy, courtesy Atlantic Records/Superhype Publishing" or something along those lines.

I checked at ASCAP when the song first came out and the band is credited as writers. Rest assured they are probably getting the lions share of the royalties from this track.