UTOPIA-DEFACE THE MUSIC

beatbo

i was struck by the attention to detail. although never a rundgren/utopia fan, one would have to be deaf to not hear the influence on the airwaves in the '70's and early 80's. and who was utopia, anyway? sounded like two different bands to me. while i am not a todd expert, his path has crossed several music streams (the beatles being one he has trapsed across many times throughout his career). so quickly, hears some background...

lessee....he started in a band in philly, then founded the Nazz, recorded 3 albums and had a couple of hit singles (the first version of 'hello, it's me' making number 41 in canada). he did Runt with the sales brothers (or did he?) but by 1972 it was the album 'something/anything?' featuring the second, more popular version of 'hello, it's me' that broke him. he became a very successful producer in the early/mid '70's, waxing anyone from the new york dolls, patti smith, meatloaf, the tubes to grand funk railroad and hall&oates. not just the mid-level releases from these artists but the seminal ones: 'bat out of hell' (megaplatinum, causing jim steinman to call rundgren 'a genuis') XTC's 'skylarking'....ok. you get the picture.

so....utopia. the first version was rundgren's back-up band on 'a wizard, a true star'. tons of keyboards, synths, etc. this version of the band showed up on 'todd rundgrens utopia' and did a live album after that (i think). the second version contained roger powell on keyboards, kasim sulton on bass, and john wilcox on drums. the biggie for this line-up was 'adventures in utopia' (1980), the same year that they released 'deface the music'.

now, some todd/beatles background: