Jump to content

UK MUSIC VIDEO AWARDS 2013 - Celebration Day Wins Best Live Coverage


Recommended Posts

  • Administrators

Event: UK Music Video Awards 2013
Location: Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre
Date: 28th October 2013


Last night (Monday, 28th October) the 6th annual UK Music Video Awards were held in London at the Queen Elizabeth Hall, where a throng of British and International filmmakers assembled to celebrate creative and technical excellence in music videos.

This year saw some of the UK’s most exciting new talent win awards for outstanding music videos. Best Dance Video went to the Josh Cole directed ‘Not Giving In’ by Rudimental (featuring John Newman and Alex Clare), Best Alternative Video went to the BISON directed ‘Wasting My Young Years’ by London Grammar, Best Music Ad went to the Powster directed ‘Sing To The Moon’ by Laura Mvula and the VEVO Best New Artist award went to Naughty Boy featuring Sam Smith for ‘La La La’.

Celebrated British filmmaker Dick Carruthers won the Best Live Coverage award for Led Zeppelin’s ‘Celebration Day’.

The French directing team Megaforce picked up the Best Director award. They also picked up Best Rock / Indie Video - International for Yeah Yeah Yeah’s ‘Sacrilege’, the editor of which, Sophie Fourdinroy also won the award for Best Editing in a Video.

LA based director Kahil Joseph picked up the Video of the Year award for Flying Lotus’ ‘Until The Quiet Comes’, which also picked up the Best Alternative Video – International award.

Another French directing team, Fleur & Manu, picked up 2 awards; Best Dance Award – International for Gesaffelstein’s ‘Pursuit’ and Best Alternative Video – Budget for Connan Mockasin’s ‘Faking Jazz Together’. Gesaffelstein’s ‘Pursuit’ also took the award for Best Visual Effects in a Video.

For the third year in a row the Barcelona-based CANADA production team won the Best Art Direction & Design in a Video award. Laia Ateca picked this up for Phoenix’s ‘Trying To Be Cool’ video.

Best Choreography in a Video goes to celebrated choreographer Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for Sigur Ros’s ‘Valtari’.

After multiple nominations in the Best Cinematography in a Video award category over the past 5 years, Steve Annis finally picks up the award for his work on Jon Hopkins’ ‘Open Eye Signal’.

Legendary British film, documentary and music video director Julien Temple was presented with the Icon Award by Ray Davies. A self-professed “Kinks obsessive” Temple directed numerous Kinks videos before making the documentary film ‘Ray Davies: Imaginary Man’. Heartfelt tributes on the night came from David Bowie, Suggs, Wilko Johnson and Michael Eavis.

Temple’s 37-year career kicked off in 1976 when he met The Sex Pistols.

After directing the legendary documentary ‘The Great Rock ‘n’ Roll Swindle’ he became well known as a successful music video director for other British luminaries like The Rolling Stones and David Bowie. He went on to direct music videos for some of the world’s most famous artists including Janet Jackson, Neil Young, Blur, Duran Duran, Gary Numan, Paul McCartney, Scissor Sisters and Whitney Houston and in the Noughties he has come into his own in the field of music documentary, establishing a signature style with iconoclastic documentaries on The Sex Pistols (‘The Filth & The Fury’), Joe Strummer (‘The Future Is Unwritten’), Dr Feelgood (‘Oil City Confidential’) and more.

The sixth annual UK Music Awards proved to be more global than ever, with winners coming from Ireland, France, Spain, Belgium, The Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, India and the US, as well as a plethora of new and established home grown directing, producing and commissioning talent.

The UK Music Video Awards editorial director, David Knight, said, "In a year where some pop videos have courted notoriety, this year's UK Music Video Awards has highlighted the true range of creativity that can come out of the process of adding visuals to music. But it was also wonderful to bestow our Icon Award on Julien Temple, a director who was courting controversy with his work over 30 years ago with the Sex Pistols, and is still adding to the language of music and film today."

Here is the full list of winners:

Best Pop Video – UK in association with 4Music

Alex Courtès for Willy Moon – Yeah Yeah

Best Dance Video – UK in association with RiRi Productions

Josh Cole for Rudimental ft John Newman & Alex Clare – Not Giving In

Best Rock/Indie Video – UK in association with Decode UK

Ninan Doff for Darwin Deez – Free (The Editorial Me)

Best Alternative Video – UK

BISON for London Grammar – Wasting My Young Years

Best Urban Video – UK

Ian & Cooper for Joel Compass – Back To Me

Best Pop Video – International

Melina Matsoukas for Solange Knowles – Losing You

Best Dance Video – International

Fleur & Manu for Gesaffelstein – Pursuit

Best Rock/Indie Video – International

Megaforce for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege

Best Alternative Video – International

Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes

Best Urban Video – International

Andreas Nilsson for 2 Chainz ft Kanye West – Birthday Song

Best Pop Video – Budget

Zaiba Jabbar for Tiny Dancer – Who Am I

Best Dance Video – Budget

Ola Martin Fjeld for Pixel – Call Me

Best Rock/Indie Video – Budget

Stevie Russell for Kodaline – All I Want

Best Alternative Video – Budget

Fleur & Manu for Connan Mockasin – Faking Jazz Together

Best Urban Video – Budget

LAMAR+NIK for Lushlife – Magnolia

Best Art Direction & Design in a Video

CANADA for Phoenix – Trying To Be Cool

Best Styling in a Video

Angela Esteban Librero for DJ Fresh vs Diplo ft Dominque Young Unique – Earthquake

Best Choreography in a Video

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for Sigur Ros – Valtari

Best Cinematography in a Video in association with Panalux

Steve Annis for Jon Hopkins – Open Eye Signal

Best Colour Grade in a Video

Aubrey Woodiwiss for Foals – Late Night

Best Animation in a Video

Tom Jobbins for Hiatus ft Shura – We Can Be Ghosts Now

Best Editing in a Video

Sophie Fourdrinoy for Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Sacrilege

Best Visual Effects in a Video in association with Quantum SFX

Mathematic Paris for Gesaffelstein – Pursuit

Best Live Coverage

Dick Carruthers for Led Zeppelin – Celebration Day

Best Music Ad – TV or Online

Powster for Laura Mvula – Sing To The Moon

Best Interactive Video

Moniker for Do Not Touch – Kilo by Light Light

Best Director in association with Promo News


Best New Director in association with Locomotion

Andrew Thomas Huang

Best Producer in association with Rushes

Liz Kessler

Best Commissioner

Dan Curwin

The Icon Award

Julien Temple

VEVO Best New Video Artist

Naughty Boy ft Sam Smith for La La La

Video of the Year

Kahlil Joseph for Flying Lotus – Until The Quiet Comes

Link to comment
Share on other sites

...Celebrations Day Indeed.....THank you for the news!!

There was a new award, the VEVO Best New Artist award, for the most played video by a new British artist in the past year - won by Naughty Boy ft Sam Smith's La La La and collected by delighted director Ian Pons Jewell and commissioners James Hackett and Sam Seager. Dick Carruthers hailed his fellow nominees and winners when he accepted the Best Live Coverage award for Led Zeppelin's Celebration Day.


Link to comment
Share on other sites

Ummm, ok...congratulations and all that. I still wish Mr. Carruthers would learn to focus his camera on the musicians more often instead of trying to be cute with the audience shots or 8mm grainy effects. He missed Jimmy's jump in "In My Time of Dying" and the chiming chords in "Stairway to Heaven" that herald the guitar solo...and that's just a couple off the top of my head.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...