Vinyl Records

jln309

I just bought 3 Led Zep Vinyls from a record shop...

2,3,4.  The guy who sells records always gives the best deals.  I am pretty sure they are original pressings, by original I mean older - not firsts or anything super valuable but I am curious if there are any distinguishable markers on them so I can be assured they are old copies.  The records are in incredible condition so I just want to make sure they are not swapped. I looked up the Atlantic labels from the late 60s, early 70s and they match but I still am not sure if they were ever recreated down the line on remasters or anything.

I am new to record collecting but honestly it just came from the joy of the music! Then I got curious haha

The 4 has the Porky and duck markings and the 3 has the So Mote Be It but again I am not sure if these were recreated on modern prints as well.

Thanks!

image1 (11).JPG

image2 (7).JPG

image4 (4).JPG

image3 (5).JPG

image5 (4).JPG

Edited by jln309

III and IV are original first pressings. With II, check the fine print at the bottom of the label - if the address is 1841 Broadway, it's a first. If it's Rockefeller Plaza, It would date to 1974. If it is a first, ; check the run-out etchings on both sides. If you see 'RL' then you can buy 500 lottery tickets and win a billion dollars.

The MO on the label of 3 indicates that it's a Monarch pressing , it should sound very good.  Check Discogs for more detailed info and compare values with the listings. There are so many variants that it will take you some time, but you can get more info on your specific pressing by looking up the matrix numbers on Discogs. If you're copy of 2 has the initails RL ( Robert Ludwig pressing),  in the deadwax and it's a clean copy,  it is worth hundreds! Maybe close to a grand right now. Depends on the condition.