Bootleg CDs - Recommended Labels

Mark Sturgis

Hello all - I am relatively new to collecting live CDs, having bought 15 shows over the past couple of years.  I now want to expand my collection but see that shows are released on numerous different labels.  I would very much appreciate advice on what labels are best and, perhaps more importantly, what labels to avoid.  

One show I want to buy is Osaka 29/9/71.  What might present a good production of this show?  There seem to be so many versions available. 

Thank you for any advice you are able to give. 

A lot of the time the fan made remasters offer the best sound quality. But if you want the physical product, it really is horses for courses. The Black Beauty website is a great source to sample snippets from different labels for a certain night. 

http://starship.mydns.jp/zeppelin/beauty/

Edited by Xolo1974

1 hour ago, Xolo1974 said:

A lot of the time the fan made remasters offer the best sound quality. But if you want the physical product, it really is horses for courses. The Black Beauty website is a great source to sample snippets from different labels for a certain night. 

http://starship.mydns.jp/zeppelin/beauty/

I'll second checking out Black Beauty so you can hear the various versions of a show before deciding which one to buy. I'd also check out BootLedz, which has explanations of the differences between the various versions.

http://www.bootledz.com/comparisons/6871.htm

Recommended Zep silver labels,....mmm A can of worms, if you ask me.