Memories of 1977

SteveZ98

For those of you who weren't around at the time, here's a good video summary of what was happening in pop culture in the US during the year of Zep's last tour here. I was around back then and this brings back quite a few memories, although I wish one of them was having gotten to see Zep play. Sadly, I was a little too young at the time.

1977.  I graduated high school and started college.  I saw Zeppelin, and I did not have enough money to go see Floyd 3 weeks later.  I remember the new albums that came out in 1977 like Animals, Low, Going for the One, A Farewell to Kings, Aja, Songs from the Wood, Draw the Line, Even in the Quietest Moments, Little Queen, Terrapin Station, Street Survivors,  Spectres,  American Stars and Bars, etc.  I can still remember that A Farewell to Kings was released right around the time I started college and I bought a copy - the first album I bought at college.

I remember the 1976 albums we were still rocking to like Presence, TSRTS, Wired, Rocks, Leftoverture, Boston, Agents of Fortune, Fly Like an Eagle, 2112, Dreamboat Annie, Station to Station, Technical Ecstasy, Free for All, etc.

The summer of 77 saw a record heat wave, the blackout and looting in New York, the Son of Sam shootings, manhunt and his capture, and the death of Elvis. 

The one movie I remember was Close Encounters of the Third Kind.  I really was anticipating it because I read about it  in Circus Magazine months before it was released.  Of course we were still going to see TSRTS when it played the midnight movie once in a while.  One time it was a triple feature with The Kids are Alright, Pink Floyd at Pompeii, and TSRTS.  What  a show that was.

The only TV I watched that year was Monty Python reruns and Saturday Night Live.  

That was fun to watch!

I was 10-11 in 1977 and much too young for the coolest stuff on the planet: Star Wars and Saturday Night Fever