Rock Band / Jimmy Went Down to Georgia

SunChild

Got a kick out this article about the new video game Rock Band:

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/article.cgi?...7/DDGNTHTE7.DTL

Speaking of buying your soul back from the devil, it reminded me of this, to be found at:

http://www.geocities.com/lvelynora/georgia.html

JIMMY WENT DOWN TO GEORGIA

(or how jimmy got his les paul)

~dedicated to Allison, the greatest Coyote of them all~

Jimmy went down to Georgia

Because he had the blues

He'd run away with his guitar on his back

And was looking for his muse

The devil went down to Georgia too

He was looking for a soul to steal

He was in a bind 'cause he was way behind

And he was willing to make a deal

When he came across little Jimmy

Grooving on his guitar and playing it hot

The devil jumped up on a hickory stump

And said, "Boy, let me tell you what

"I guess you didn't know it

But I'm a mean guitarist too

And if you'd care to take a dare

I'll make a bet with you

"Now you play some rocking riffs, boy

But give the devil his due

I bet a Les Paul of gold against your soul

'Cause I think I'm better than you"

The devil was making such a ruckus

He got the attention of some Crowes

They were getting tall and having a ball

And flew down to watch the show

The Crowes were eating grits and offered some

To the devil and little Jim

Jim ate a big bowl but the devil said "No"

He had never really cared for them

Jim didn't answer the devil right away

He sat down with the little Crowe Chris

And they read all the comics out loud, one by one

-Now the devil was getting pissed

"I'm asking you one more time, boy

But if you leave this offer alone

The next time I cut you a deal, boy

It will be with an Epiphone!"

Now this got little Jimmy riled

And his eyes flashed glowing red

He wanted the Les Paul more than life itself

But was filled with a crippling dread

He had a cold and his hair was a mess

And he was afraid he had lost his touch