I've Arranged For Jimmy's Book To Go Into The British Library In London

kenog

I left this site at the end of 2010. However, I've returned to make this post because it concerns a matter which I have been pursuing since September 2010. I had intimated to a couple of site members by private message that I was going to do this. Under the Legal Deposit Act 2003 (UK legislation) a copy of every book which is published in the UK must be deposited with the British Library in London. I emailed Genesis Publications twice back in September to ask if they were going to deposit a copy of Jimmy's book. They did not reply. Therefore, I lodged a complaint with the British Library. They checked Genesis Publications' record on depositing and found it to be rather poor. I asked the BL to ensure that a copy of Jimmy's book was deposited, and at the same time, if they would arrange for any of Genesis' books which are missing from the BL to also be deposited.

I do not have a particular problem with Genesis - it is just the fact that they must comply with UK publishing law. I saw this as an ideal opportunity for a copy of the book to be publicly available. I feel strongly about diehard Zeppelin fans who were unable to afford the book, or missed out due to its limited numbers. Please note that the British Library is a reference only library, and I believe you would have to take along photographic identification to get access. Check the BL's website for full details.

The book is not in the BL yet. I have emailed the BL to see if they can clarify when it will arrive. I shall print any reply I receive to that query.

I have copied below the latest emails between myself and the BL. It looks from the BL's email to me that a copy of any book which Genesis has in stock is going to be deposited - so more or less their full catalogue will go in and I know that people on here are interested in other bands in addition to Zeppelin.

RE: Genesis Publishing - Complaint