Request from a graduate student researcher (re: June 3, 1977 concert riot)

Elizabeth Grisham

My name is Elizabeth Grisham. I am a graduate student majoring in history at George Mason University. I am currently working on my Master's thesis. My topic is the Led Zeppelin concert riot of June 3, 1977. I came to this site to try to connect with people who were at that concert and the riot that ensued. If any members of this site would be willing to share information about that riot with me, I would be most grateful. I would be especially grateful if those of you who were at that concert would be willing to allow me to interview you.

You can reach me at: egrisham@masonlive.gmu.edu. Please put "Led Zeppelin riot" in the subject of your message.

Thank you for your time. I hope to hear from you and hear your stories.

Elizabeth

You need to contact missytootsweet, Elizabeth...she was there at the Tampa show. Do a search of the members and send her a pm. I'm sure she'd be happy to talk to you.

Forgive my nosiness, but I am curious as to what kind of Master's Thesis this is that a Led Zeppelin concert riot makes a suitable topic? Why a Zeppelin concert specifically...or, to be even more specific, why the Tampa 77 riot and not, say, the Milan 71 riot?

Just wondering, and if you'd rather not give your answers in public, feel free to pm me. All correspondence will be treated with strict confidence.

I wish you luck on your Thesis. If you ever decide to do one on any of the LA concerts circa 1972-1977, I'm your guy.

20 Arrested at Concert Riot

Naples, FL Daily News

June 5, 1977

Tampa, Fla. (UPI)

A heavy thunderstorm cut short a Led Zeppelin rock concert Friday night, triggering a riot by thousands of fans at Tampa Stadium that left scores of police officers and fans injured. At least 20 persons were arrested. Chanting "We want Zeppelin, we want Zeppelin," the young fans began throwing rocks and bottles at police who had formed a human barrier in front of the stage.