Feedback on my guitar sound - Zeppelin enough?

stillwater

Hi all!

I'm a hobby musician currently trying to put something Zeppelin-ish together (no cover, but an original in the tradition of) but I'm not sure if my guitar sound is as Page-esque as it should be to get the vibe across. I figured that the Led Zeppelin Forum would be a good place to ask such a question?

So please have a quick listen to this little jam and tell me what you think about the sound.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X-75dSQCVnQ&feature=plcp

Van Halen was about the last thing on my mind when I did that. I wanted to go something like Black Dog but with more dirt and distortion. When I think Van Halen I think of tapping, whammy bar and way better playing than mine lol. Any ideas how to get closer to a more Zeppelin guitar sound - soundwise?

Van Halen was about the last thing on my mind when I did that. I wanted to go something like Black Dog but with more dirt and distortion. When I think Van Halen I think of tapping, whammy bar and way better playing than mine lol. Any ideas how to get closer to a more Zeppelin guitar sound - soundwise?

Get some dimarzio pickups or duncans and dont use to much distortion. Oh and use your mid position alot !

I'm a hobby musician currently trying to put something Zeppelin-ish together

not LZ at all

it would be nice to hear you playing. In the demo furnished we only hear the rig mostly. m/r is precisely correct. Especially in 1980, Page's rig was thin in regards to signal processing. Compare his tone at the O2 to the sound on your demo. You are rig dependent. WCR American Steels allow for more responsiveness and flexibility but that goes out the door if you are reliant on the rig rather than the musician.

take m/r's advice and then post up a new one when you get a moment.

For pickups visit: http://www.wcrguitar.com/

No offense taken at all, I'm appreciative of any feedback, I want to become better on the guitar.