Behind the Song "No Quarter"

the_dude

Hej there!

I'm a student of audio engineering from leipzig/germany. At the moment I start to write my major project and I urgently need some informations about the song "No Quarter" of Led Zeppelin. Especially about everything concerning the engineering...the technolgy, the gear, some statments of the producers etc. It would be awesome if some of you diehard Led Zep fans could help me!:) Thank you so much!!

off the top of my head, and may have been stated

-final mix tape speed was slowed down

-Jimmy seems to be "direct" into the board and getting a grainy crunchy distortion instead of a mic'd amp (which it was confirmed he did a direct in for Black Dog, which is where he probably got the idea for NQ)

-Jones was using two, phase?, or flange?, (rotary speaker type) effects, one was on fast and one on slow simultaneously

-No Quarter = No Mercy (asking for no mercy if captured by enemies)

-check the wikipedia article about the scales and noise at the end of the solo

-check youtube.com and elsewhere for rehearsals and outtakes

-I honestly think some of the tracks (vocals maybe) were run through a Leslie again and recorded for the final product during mastering

this and ten years gone are my favorite Zep tracks

edit: I think there was use of stereophonic phasing.....................

Any cooks out there that want to make my dinner tonight?

Uncalled for. This is where we discuss many, MANY different things concerning Led Zep. Why not some specifics about a specific song? I am pretty SURE that many people here know WAY MORE then one can search over the internet... so why not ask them?

His question here is totally valid. Your answer is totally uncalled for...

Uncalled for. This is where we discuss many, MANY different things concerning Led Zep. Why not some specifics about a specific song? I am pretty SURE that many people here know WAY MORE then one can search over the internet... so why not ask them?